We just reviewed the Echo Auto ($40), Amazon's Alexa assistant for your car. My state just went completely "hands free" (as in you can get a ticket for as much as touching your phone while driving), so I put the Echo Auto to the test to see how it stacks up against simply using Siri hands free on my iPhone.

We could see the Echo Auto dropping as low as $25 this month, especially around Black Friday and Cyber Monday. Stay tuned on Ben's and remember to set a deal alert!

Read more on The CheckOut...

See More:
  • Send Me Similar Deals!

Comments & Reviews (16)

Join the Conversation

Vodka_Drunkenski
Ben's cred: 159
Posted 11/04/2019 at 12:02 PM PT
Posted 11/04/2019 at 12:02 PM PT
I was able to get two of them during the invitation-only pre-release. Paid $24.99 for the first one in $19.99 for the second one. So far I enjoy using it, mainly for my prime music account.
mtnbc
Ben's cred: 7
Posted 11/04/2019 at 03:23 PM PT
Posted 11/04/2019 at 03:23 PM PT
Will this know I'm speeding if I put it in my car?
hough747
Ben's cred: 34
Posted 11/04/2019 at 05:36 PM PT
Posted 11/04/2019 at 05:36 PM PT
I have been waiting for this for years. Thanks Bens, otherwise I wouldn't have know it was released. I was on the pre-release invite request list and never received an invite. And yes, I set a deal alert :)
Romelo23
Ben's cred: 1
Posted 11/04/2019 at 06:07 PM PT
Posted 11/04/2019 at 06:07 PM PT
I picked one up during pre-invite as well. My car does not do bluetooth audio for anything, music or GPS. It certainly needs some work but at least I can stream music and have my GPS through my speakers. I could barely ever hear it through the phone speaker.
darktideryezing
Ben's cred: 86
Posted 11/05/2019 at 04:36 AM PT
Posted 11/05/2019 at 04:36 AM PT
I'm still on the fence about this given that it will use mobile data. anyone know about how much it might use?
shoey5566
Ben's cred: 2
Posted 11/05/2019 at 06:39 AM PT
Posted 11/05/2019 at 06:39 AM PT
Mine keeps disconnecting. Every time I go to use it, it says "You must first connect your Amazon Echo to your phone......." I am an Echo fan and have many in my home, but this is just annoying.
GratefulBear
Ben's cred: 3
Posted 11/06/2019 at 10:45 AM PT
Posted 11/06/2019 at 10:45 AM PT
Ok sound good I hope
Creve
Ben's cred: 1
Posted 11/09/2019 at 08:24 AM PT
Posted 11/09/2019 at 08:24 AM PT
Very disappointed in it. Took out. Disables some frequent functions I use like drop in, etc because you are in a car. Even if parked
turk182
Ben's cred: 77
Posted 11/09/2019 at 09:22 AM PT
Posted 11/09/2019 at 09:22 AM PT
just watched a youtube video on installation - too difficult for me.
cjw3cma
Ben's cred: 20
Posted 11/09/2019 at 09:40 AM PT
Posted 11/09/2019 at 09:40 AM PT
Roav VIVA by Anker, is the better choice than this item as it does not need to be re-connected and it is so simple to use. Directions are a piece of cake ("Alexa, find the closest In and Out Burger" found them all and I easily picked one and was given the GPS directions to get there.
maichaytim
Ben's cred: 3
Posted 11/09/2019 at 09:42 AM PT
Posted 11/09/2019 at 09:42 AM PT
Im in, my car need one plz
cheapbastage
Ben's cred: 52
Posted 11/09/2019 at 11:51 AM PT
Posted 11/09/2019 at 11:51 AM PT
Garmin Speak Plus is awesome, with Alexa for music and easy voice nav
Forbidden
Ben's cred: 208
Posted 11/09/2019 at 04:26 PM PT
Posted 11/09/2019 at 04:26 PM PT
Excellent and honest review by the infamous AgentK.
Thanks.
I will keep with my Google Assistant on my phone :)
chuckster999
Ben's cred: 3
Posted 11/09/2019 at 09:45 PM PT
Posted 11/09/2019 at 09:45 PM PT
Tried this out for 3 weeks.
Too many problems with connecting, disconnecting.
Worked only about 20% of the time. Returned it.
artic1029
Ben's cred: 0
Posted 11/10/2019 at 11:15 AM PT
Posted 11/10/2019 at 11:15 AM PT
I have this installed for a couple of months now. I noticed that if you open up the alexa app in your phone, it will connect faster. Otherwise, you have to wait for about a minute to get the echo auto connected to the app.
senovak
Ben's cred: 0
Posted 11/14/2019 at 05:26 AM PT
Posted 11/14/2019 at 05:26 AM PT
I too got this during the invite only time. It's OK and definitely better than the Roav Viva.